Your iPhone Has Been Hacked POP-UP Scam (Mac)

What is Your iPhone Has Been Hacked POP-UP Scam (Mac)

Your iPhone Has Been Hacked POP-UP Scam (Mac) refers to fraudulent alerts that appear when you get redirected to certain websites. These pop-up scams aim to get your Apple ID, personal information, login credentials, or want to trick you into installing questionable apps or calling tech-support scammers. These scams are incredibly common and you can usually encounter them on certain high-risk websites. As long as you don’t interact with them, you can just ignore the alert and close the window.

Your iPhone Has Been Hacked POP-UP Scam

The scam falsely claims that your iPhone has been hacked in order to make you alarmed and more likely to act carelessly. The scam pop-ups write that “Immediate action is required”, but depending on the scam, the action may be different. One may ask you to login it your Apple ID, which is essentially a phishing attempt. Another may claim that you need to call the displayed phone number to get technical support, and that’s known as a tech-support scam. Whatever these “Your iPhone has been hacked” pop-ups asks you to do, you can just ignore it.

In order to delete Your iPhone Has Been Hacked POP-UP Scam (Mac) from your iPhone screen, all you really need to do is close the window, as the scam pop-up was likely brought about by the site you were visiting.

Why are these pop-ups appearing

When you’re browsing on your iPhone, these pop-ups and redirects are triggered by the sites you visit. Those sites are often ones hosting pornography and free copyrighted content as they use very low-quality ads to get revenue. Thus browsing them is often not safe. However, as long as you don’t visit them, you should be okay.

If the pop-ups appear when you’re browsing on a Mac, you may be dealing with an adware infection. A pop-up appearing once or twice when you’re browsing questionable sites is nothing unusual. However, if you are seeing weird ads and get redirected when you visit safe sites that previously caused no issues, your Mac may be infected with adware. If that is the case, the ads will not stop until you remove the adware.

Adware is considered to be a pretty minor infection that usually installs via freeware bundles. Free programs usually come with extra offers attached, and they’re usually adware, browser hijackers and potentially unwanted programs. The offers are optional but they are preselected to install alongside the freeware automatically. Users need to manually deselect them to stop them from installing but many don’t, simply because they are not aware of the offers being there in the first place.

To prevent installing unwanted offers in the future, you need to install programs in Advanced (Custom) settings. Those settings will make any added offers visible, and you will have the option to deselect all of them. Even if the offers seem useful at first, it’s not a good idea to install any of them. Software bundling is a rather sneaky method, and programs that use it should be avoided.

What is the purpose of these scams

When you get redirected to one of these websites displaying the scams, a pop-up will appear claiming that “Your iPhone has been hacked” and that “All your actions on the device are tracked by a hacker”. The message may seem alarming to users who haven’t encountered these kinds of scams before. The pop-ups ask that users take immediate action, and what that action entails is different depending on the scam. If the main goal of the scam is to phish credentials, users may be asked to put in their Apple ID and password. If malicious actors are successful in this phishing attempt, they may be able to access users Apple accounts, which hold all kinds of personal information, photos, messages, etc. Unauthorized access to an Apple account could have disastrous consequences.

Alternatively, the scam may display a phone number, supposedly for tech-support. This is what’s known as a tech-support scam. The aim of this scam is to convince users that they are calling legitimate tech-support. The fake technicians request remote access to users devices, pretend to fix them and then ask for hundreds of dollars for the services. But since there was nothing wrong in the first place, users would be paying for nothing. These tech-support scams are very common but users still fall for them. However, they are very easy to recognize. First of all, browsers will never display legitimate virus alerts. Second, companies like Google, Apple and Microsoft do not make unsolicited contact and do not display pop-ups with phone numbers for their technicians. If you even encounter a virus alert that shows a phone number, you can immediately disregard it as a scam.

Your iPhone Has Been Hacked POP-UP Scam (Mac) removal

As we said above, these pop-ups appear when you browse high-risk websites. As long as you avoid sites that have low-quality ads, you should be okay. And if you do get the pop-up, to remove Your iPhone Has Been Hacked POP-UP Scam (Mac) just close the tab. If you have interacted with the pop-up, there are certain things you need to do. If you were asked to put in your Apple ID credentials and you did, you need to change them immediately. Once you change your password, enable two-factor-authentication as well. This way, your account will be protected by more than just a password. If you were asked to provide your payment card details, you need to call your bank to cancel the card as soon as possible, before fraudulent charges to your account can be made.

We also recommend changing some of your iPhone settings. Settings -> Safari, toggle on Block Pop-ups and Fraudulent Website Warning. Go to Advanced -> Website Data, and click Remove All Website Data. Toggling on those switches won’t prevent all potentially malicious pop-ups/redirects but it should do some good.Download Removal Toolto remove Your iPhone Has Been Hacked POP-UP Scam (Mac)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *