About “Your iPhone Has Been Hacked” pop-up

“Your iPhone Has Been Hacked” is one of many fake virus alerts that you may come across while browsing. This particular alert is meant to appear on iPhones. Users are typically shown these alerts while browsing certain high-risk websites. While some alerts may seem quite alarming, they are nothing more than scams that are trying to push questionable apps onto users. The apps may be potentially malicious in some cases. These alerts also try to steal personal and financial information. You can ignore these pop-ups whenever you come across them and simply close the window.

 

Your iPhone Has Been Hacked scam

 

This false virus alert tries to scare users with claims like “Your iPhone has been hacked” and “All your actions on the device are tracked by a hacker”. To stop the supposed hacker from being able to access your iPhone, the alert wants you to download something. It’s not uncommon for these false alerts to also have countdowns. Malicious actors frequently utilize the countdown to pressure users into reacting quicker. Users are more likely to respond in a rush and not overthink the issue when they see a time limit. The whole point of these types of alerts is to have users download the offered app/program. According to these kinds of pop-ups, the apps would help protect devices from malicious actors and remove already present malware. In reality, those apps would do nothing or even cause damage. Never download anything from advertisements, especially ones that claim malware is on your device.

The alert is complete nonsense, in case that wasn’t clear already. First off, it is immediately obvious that the alert is fake because it appears in your browser. Malware cannot be detected by browsers, whether on computers or mobile devices. So a legitimate virus warning will never show up in a browser. Furthermore, a legitimate alert will never say things like “all your actions on the device are tracked by a hacker”. So you can disregard any future virus alert that appears in your browser. It’s also worth mentioning that the alert’s contents makes no sense. Apple certainly does not show these kinds of alerts on iPhones.

It’s difficult to say what would happen if you interacted with the ad because there are many similar fake security alerts. You would likely be redirected to a dubious website or store and asked to download a certain application. You can potentially end up on a website that tries to steal your financial and personal information as well. For example, you can be prompted to subscribe to some kind of security app. If you were to type in your personal information and your card details on these kinds of websites, the information would end up in the hands of malicious actors. The stolen data could either be used by the cybercriminals themselves or sold on a hacker forum.

Similar warnings might also include a phone number. Fake alerts that have phone numbers are usually classified as tech-support scams. These scams typically aim to get victims to call fake tech support numbers so that scammers can steal hundreds of dollars from them.

What triggers redirects to these kinds of scams

You visiting high-risk websites is the most likely cause of the random redirects. Certain websites can often trigger random redirects to questionable websites and scams. Clicking on anything on those sites could lead to you being redirected. Sites that have pornographic or pirated content, for instance, are particularly guilty of this. You need to be very careful when browsing those websites to avoid being exposed to dangerous websites. You can’t really do anything to avoid such redirects and you need to be extra cautious because it is generally more difficult to avoid ads on smartphones than it is on computers. But at least the advertisements are not particularly dangerous as long as you don’t interact with them.

On your iPhone, you can modify some settings to block certain ads, albeit this does not always work perfectly.

“Your iPhone Has Been Hacked” pop-up removal

Whenever you come across these types of alerts, you can disregard them completely because they will always be fake. It is possible to stop these redirects and pop-ups to some extent by altering certain iPhone settings. Use the directions below to help you. But it’s worth mentioning that the feature isn’t always as effective as we’d want it to be. Nonetheless, it’s better than nothing. Though as long as you don’t interact with the sites you’re redirected to, no harm should be done even if you’re redirected.

  • Open Settings -> Safari. Toggle on the Block Pop-ups feature.

iPhone SettingsiPhone Safari

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • Scroll down to Advanced -> Website Data -> Remove All Website Data.

iPhone Safari Advanced iPhone Safari web dataiPhone Safari web data delete

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *