What is “Win A New iPhone 13” POP-UP Scam

“Win A New iPhone 13” POP-UP Scam is a phishing campaign currently going around the Internet. You can encounter this scam when browsing high-risk websites or if your Mac has adware installed on it. The scam claims that you have a chance to win an iPhone 13 if you sign up for a trial. However, the giveaway is fake and just a trick used by scammers so that users buy a subscription that will be very difficult to cancel.

 

Win A New iPhone 13 Scam

 

Diffrent websites may display this scam but the gist of it is that you can win an iPhone if you subscribe to a trial for PEAKAWRAP. It’s not clear what the subscription is supposed to be for but the 3-day trial costs $3. The scam asks users to provide their personal information, including full name, home address, email address, and phone number. It also asks for payment card information. If you were to engage with this scam, you would be charged $3 and then $28.99 every two weeks until you cancel the service. Only you won’t be able to cancel the subscription. The website doesn’t even explain how canceling would be possible. If you have fallen for this scam and purchsed a subscription, contact your bank and explain the situation. They may be able to block the transactions and/or issue you a new payment card. The whole point of this scam is to get users’ personal information, their payment card details, as well as money.

For future reference, keep in mind that legitimate giveaways are not done with way. All giveaways you’re randomly redirected to will be scams. If you’re regularly redirected to these scams, we suggest you check your Mac for adware. It would be easiest to use anti-virus software. You also need to install an adblocker extension.

What triggers redirects to scam websites?

There are a couple of reasons why you’re redirected to sites that display scams. In most cases, redirects are triggered by the sites users visit. When browsing certain sites (e.g. sites that have pornographic or pirated content), it’s not uncommon that a click on anything would trigger a redirect to sites that promote scams. Fortunately, it’s easy to block these redirects using an adblocker program. Finding a reliable adblocker is not difficult, and it will greatly improve your browsing experience.

It’s also possible that the redirects are triggered by an adware infection on your computer. Adware, while not a serious infection, is very annoying. It will spam your browser with ads and trigger redirects to all kinds of websites. These kinds of infections install using the free software bundling method, which essentially allows them to be attached to free software as extra offers. These offers are permitted to install alongside automatically unless users manually prevent them from doing so. But because the offers are hidden, many users fail to stop their installations.

If you want to prevent unwanted installations, pay attention when installing freeware. More specifically, opt for Advanced (Custom) settings instead of Default (Basic) when given the option. Default settings will conceal all offers, allowing them to install without your permission. However, Advanced settings will make all offers visible, and you will be given the option to deselect all of them. Simply uncheck the boxes of those offers.

“Win A New iPhone 13” POP-UP Scam removal

When you get the “Win A New iPhone 13” POP-UP on your screen, you can simply close the window and carry on with your browsing. However, if the site that showed you the scam asked you to allow it to show you notifications, and you gave it permission, you need to revoke it. Otherwise, the site will continue to spam you with highly intrusive ads. It’s not difficult to revoke this permission, as long as you know your way around your browser’s settings. If you’re not sure how to go about this, use the below directions.

  • Mozilla Firefox: Open menu -> Preferences -> Privacy & Security -> Notifications -> Settings. In the list of sites that have permission, find ones you want to remove, click on the site, and click Remove Website. If you don’t want to get any notification requests in the future, check the box at the bottom that says “Block new requests to allow notifications.”.
  • Google Chrome: Open menu -> Settings -> Privacy and security -> Site Settings. Scroll down and click Notifications. Under “Allow”, review all sites that have permission, right-click on the ones you want to remove, and click Remove. If you don’t want to get any notification requests in the future, toggle off the button that says “Sites can ask to send notifications.”.
  • Safari: Open the main menu -> Safari ->Preferences -> Websites tab -> Notifications. In the list of sites that have permission, find ones you want to remove, click on the site, and click Remove. If you don’t want to get any notification requests in the future, uncheck the box at the bottom that says “Allow websites to ask for permission to send push notifications”.

Notifications request

We also recommend scanning your Mac with anti-virus software in case an adware infection is what’s triggering redirects to this scam. You should also install an adblocker extension so that redirects and ads get blocked, especially when you’re browsing unsafe sites.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *